Finnegaarden was named after the farm Finne in Voss, and was first mentioned in 1403. In the mid 1700s, parts of Finnegaarden belonged to Erik Rosenkrantz. Following the fire in 1702, the building was rebuilt in 1703, and became the Hanseatic Office's southernmost buildings. For a longer period, the building fell under Hamburg ownership. In the mid 1800s the Lude Family became the owners of Finnegaarden, and it currently belongs to Agnethe Lude Sande.
Finnegaarden has been built as a Hanseatic Trading House. In earlier times, there was a brisk trade in dried fish, corn, leather and hides. Over the centuries the building has been used by German, Dutch and Norwegian merchants as a work place, residence, warehouse and, from time to time, a restaurant.
Together with the Hanseatic Museum, Finnegaarden is part of Bryggen in Bergen and is inscribed on UNESCO's list of World Heritage Sites.
Finnegaarden is a house buzzing with activity! We offer a selection of 3 restaurants, as well as Bergen's most charming hotel. For guests who want to experience something different, something rich in atmosphere, history and culture, Finnegaarden is the natural choice.
Choose hotel room
All rooms at the Hanseatic Hotel are unique with their own charm. You can choose from five room categories.
Standard Twin Room
Our Restaurants & Bar
FG Restaurant & Bar
The FG Restaurant & Bar at the Hanseatic Wharf in Bergen is best described as a modern brasserie and attractive bar, offering a wide selection of meat and fish dishes, as well as home-made hamburgers.