The Hanseatic Hotel is part of Finnegaarden at the renowned Bryggen in Bergen, and opened in the summer of 2006 with 16 rooms. In 2011, the hotel was extended with 11 new rooms and a further 10 rooms were added in 2012. The hotel is one of a kind, centrally located at Bryggen in Bergen in a cultural-historical setting, and exquisitely furnished in charming surroundings.
Finnegaarden was named after Finne farm in Voss, and was first mentioned in 1403 at a time when the farm was owned by Gudrun Sigurdsdatter. In the mid 1700s, part of the farm belonged to Erik Rosenkrantz. Following the fire at Bryggen in Bergen in 1702, Finnegaarden became the southernmost farm of the Hanseatic Office. For a prolonged period, the farm fell under Hamburg ownership. In the mid 1800s the Lude Family became the owners of Finnegaarden. The farm was built as a Hanseatic Trading House. In earlier times, there was a brisk trade in dried fish, corn, leather and hides. Over the centuries the farm has been used by German, Dutch and Norwegian merchants as a work place, residence, warehouse and, from time to time, a restaurant.
Together with the Hanseatic Museum, Finnegaarden is part of Bryggen in Bergen and is inscribed on UNESCO's list of World Heritage Sites. Following the great fire of 1702, the building was rebuilt in its present form. The special, unique atmosphere of the premises is a testimony to the stringent planning requirements for listed buildings.
Choose hotel room
All rooms at the Hanseatic Hotel are unique with their own charm. You can choose from five room categories.
Standard Twin Room
Our Restaurants & Bar
FG Restaurant & Bar
The FG Restaurant & Bar at the Hanseatic Wharf in Bergen is best described as a modern brasserie and attractive bar, offering a wide selection of meat and fish dishes, as well as home-made hamburgers.